Home About Marietta Marietta Moving Guide Marietta Area Codes

Marietta Area Codes

The local Marietta area codes are 770, 678, 470, and 943.  You will also find that many Marietta residents have mobile numbers that begin with 404 – the area code now used for Atlanta.  In addition, ten digit dialing – area code plus phone number – is required for making calls.

Georgia Area Code History

In 1947, the area code 404 was given to all phone numbers in the state of Georgia.  In 1952, southern and most of central Georgia changed to 912, and Atlanta and north Georgia retained 404.  In 1992, 706 was created for north and west central Georgia, excluding metro Atlanta.

In 1995, 770 was given to the Atlanta suburbs, including Marietta, while all mobile numbers in the metro area used 404.  In 1998, the “overlay area code” of 678 was given to all of metro Atlanta and suburbs including Marietta.  470, another overlay area code, was given to the same area just 3 years later, but was not used until 2010.

In 2020 it was announced that overlay area code 943 would be added to the Atlanta Metropolitan area.  This overlay area includes cities of Marietta, Alpharetta, Duluth, Dunwoody, East Point, Forest Park, Gainesville, Griffin, Lawrenceville, Mableton, Peachtree City, Roswell, Sandy Springs, Smyrna and Tucker.

When a new area code is created, it is not used until carriers run out of current area codes.  Existing phone number plus area code combinations will not change when a new overlay area code is released.