Home About Marietta Marietta Moving Guide Register Your Vehicle

Register Your Vehicle

For residents that are new to the state of Georgia or new to Cobb County, vehicles must be registered within 30 days of your move date at the County Tag Office.

For current Cobb County residents with an existing registration, vehicle registration expires at Midnight on your birthday.

Vehicle registration must be processed in the vehicle owner’s county of residence.

Residents who do not register by the deadlines may receive fines up to $100.

Vehicle Purchases:

If you purchased a vehicle from a private party, you must register your vehicle within 7 business days.

If you purchased from a dealership, the dealer may submit your registration as a courtesy, but they are not required to do so.  If they do not submit for you, you have 30 days from the date of purchase to apply for registration (even though the temporary tag is valid for 45 days).

Registration takes place at the County Tag Office.

For more information, visit cobbtax.org or call (770) 528-8600.