Eleven federal holidays are established in Title 5 U.S. Code § 6103.

New Year’s Day takes place on January 1 each year.

The birth of Martin Luther King, Jr. is celebrated on the third Monday in January.  His actual birthday was on January 15, 1929.

Presidents Day takes place on the third Monday in February.  The holiday was established in 1885 in recognition of George Washington’s birthday on February 22, 1732.  In 1968, the Uniform Monday Holiday Act passed and combined the celebration of Washington’s birthday with the birthday of Abraham Lincoln, which took place on February 12.  Presidents’ Day commonly viewed as a day to celebrate all U.S. presidents, past and present.

Memorial Day is celebrated on the last Monday in May.  The holiday, also known as Decoration Day, is a holiday for remembering the people who died while serving in the U.S. armed forces.

Juneteenth National Independence Day takes place on June 19 of each year. The day’s name is a blending of the words June and nineteenth, referencing June 19, 1865 – the day that Union Army Maj. Gen. Gordon Granger rode into Galveston, Texas, and told enslaved African-Americans of their emancipation. That was two years after President Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation on January 1, 1863. Juneteenth is also known as Emancipation Day, and people across the country celebrate with food and festivities, much like the Fourth of July.

Independence Day takes place on July 4 of each year.  Also known as the Fourth of July, the holiday commemorates the adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776.  The Declaration of Independence declared that the thirteen original colonies were free and independent states no longer connected to the British Crown.

Labor Day takes place on the first Monday in September.  The holiday celebrates the American labor movement and workers contributions to the U.S. and became a federal holiday in 1894. Labor Day weekend also symbolizes the end of summer for many Americans, and is celebrated with parties, parades and more.

Columbus Day takes place on the second Monday in October.  The day celebrates Christopher Columbus’s arrival in the Americas and became a federal holiday in April 1934.  The actual date of his arrival at an island in the Bahamas was on October 12, 1492.

Veterans Day is observed on November 11 each year. The day honors military veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces. The day was formerly known as Armistice Day and marked the end of World War I at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918. Armistice Day was renamed Veterans Day in 1954.

Thanksgiving Day takes place on the fourth Thursday in November.  It is sometimes referred to as “First Thanksgiving” in recognition of the celebration and feast by the Pilgrims (and attended by Native Americans) after their first harvest in the New World in October 1621.  Thanksgiving became a federal holiday in 1863, during the American Civil War, as a time to give thanks and celebrate with a feast.

Christmas Day takes place on December 25 each year.


U.S. Code § 6103 – Holidays (Page 594)

(a) The following are legal public holidays:

  • New Year’s Day, January 1.
  • Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr., the
    third Monday in January.
  • Washington’s Birthday, the third Monday in
  • Memorial Day, the last Monday in May.
  • Juneteenth National Independence Day, June 19.
  • Independence Day, July 4.
  • Labor Day, the first Monday in September.
  • Columbus Day, the second Monday in October.
  • Veterans Day, November 11.
  • Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in
  • Christmas Day, December 25.

On June 17, 2021, Title 5 was amended to include Juneteenth National Independence Day as the newest federal holiday, to take place on June 19 of each year.

Back to Cobb County and Marietta City School Calendars


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.